Out now: My Name is not Alice

Sorry for bombarding you with blog posts these days…but, well, I’ve got a new book, and I’m excited about it, so you’ll have to suffer through it.

Thanks to Amazon reacting pretty quickly to me sending them the respective files, Alice was out yesterday evening already. My Name is not Alice Ebook CoverSo far only as an e-book – as usual, I’ll be waiting a few weeks for the paperback proof copy to cross the big, bad ocean. I’ll let you know once the paperback is out, too.

There’s really not that much to add from my side to yesterday’s post…other than a confession, maybe.

When I published my first book, I was all butterflies and oohs and aahs. I had learned only a few weeks prior that self-publishing was even a thing, and I went in head first and without having the first idea how it was done, or what mistakes one can make, or whatever. I didn’t care. I had my book, I was proud of it, I wanted the world to see it, so there. The second was tougher, because suddenly there was this huge Sword of Damocles called ‘readers’ expectations’. People liked Ratpaths. What would they make of A Rat for a Rat? Would they think it a worthy sequel, or a waste of time? You can imagine that I was a bit nervous. Once a Rat was easy again, because I was confident that it was the best of the trilogy, so if people liked part I and II, I knew they’d be happy with part III as well. No butterflies at all when I published The Girl on the Red Pillow, because, selfish as that may sound, I didn’t write it for you. That one, I wrote solely for myself and I didn’t – still don’t – care what anyone would make of it. And You Used to Hurry Home was basically an exercise in how much fun I could have with my brain and a bit of religion and mythology.

Alice, though…somehow, she’s different, and dearest to me. So my confession is, I’m terrified. I want people to love her as much as I do. She’s alive in my head, as unlikable as she comes across sometimes, as weak, as strong, as confused as a teenager can be, with all her flaws and faults, and all her desperate attempts to become someone she herself can accept. Yeah, adolescence is a bitch.

Anyhow, that’s my heart on a silver platter, once again. I’m looking forward – trembling and biting my nails – to your thoughts.

And here’s the Amazon link – it’s a universal one, so should lead you directly to your country’s Amazon page.

 

About angelikarust

My name is Angelika Rust. I was born in Vienna in 1977. These days, I live in Germany, with my husband, two children, a despotic couple of cats and a hyperactive dog. After having tried almost every possible job from pizza delivery girl to HR consultant, I now make a living knowing English. No, I haven’t yet figured out what I want to be when I grow up, whenever that may be. In the meantime, I write the occasional book.
This entry was posted in Shameless Self-Promotion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Out now: My Name is not Alice

  1. hollygal123 says:

    This book looks amazing! I’m Just about to self-publish myself πŸ™ˆ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

