C&Q Writers on Mental Health #4: Angelika Rust

We’re running a mental health series over at Cake & Quill. All of our writers get the chance to voice their thoughts on depression, social anxiety, or any other mental illness they’ve had (or are having) any experience with. Here’s me now, with my contribution to the series.

Cake & Quill

Today we have Angelika Rust here, talking about depression, social anxiety, and the stigma of the mentally ill.

*****

I have a slight case of depression and social anxiety. I say slight because I get by without meds, and I never feel the urge to throw myself off a cliff. Doesn’t mean it’s all fun and games, though.

Imagine a nasty cold – runny nose, headache, limbs hurt, you feel tired. Not nice, but not really a reason to stay in bed all the time. You’re not even running a fever, so you might as well go to work. And anyway, a cold usually doesn’t last longer than a week or two. Get over it.

Now imagine the same cold for the rest of your life. Every. Single. Day. And you know you have to live with it, because it can’t be cured. All you can do is, wrap yourself…

View original post 805 more words

About angelikarust

My name is Angelika Rust. I was born in Vienna in 1977. These days, I live in Germany, with my husband, two children, a despotic couple of cats and a hyperactive dog. After having tried almost every possible job from pizza delivery girl to HR consultant, I now make a living knowing English. No, I haven’t yet figured out what I want to be when I grow up, whenever that may be. In the meantime, I write the occasional book.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

